the war is won!

The aphids are gone, the ladybugs are gone, and the eggplants have appeared!

Unfortunately I lost a different war – a stealth attack that came in the night and mugged my tomato plant.  The first tomato was looking almost perfect yesterday, but I decided to wait a day or two to see if it would ripen a little more on the vine.

Sadly, some night critter was very pleased with this decision, and had himself a big juicy bite of heirloom tomato for dinner.

I picked it today though, and I’ll try to salvage the rest.  In other, non-war news, the zucchini production is definitely slowing down, but I still have way more than I know what to do with.  The yellow zucchinis seem to produce quite a bit more than the green zucchini, and I don’t know if it’s just supply and demand but I find myself cheering on the greens and looking depressedly at all the yellows.  Next year I’m going to up the green-to-yellow ratio.  But here’s a big fat greenie that got a little big waiting for Alia to come home to help me eat it!

The romaine lettuce was starting to bolt in this hot weather, so I had to harvest it all at once, which made for a LOT of salads this week.

But I also got to eat my first cucumber, and there are quite a few more where that came from.  Besides tomatoes, I think cucumber is the vegetable that I really appreciate the most fresh out of the garden.  You wouldn’t think it would make that much difference – I know people who think cucumbers have no flavor at all – but people, eat one immediately after picking it from the plant and then we can talk!

The edamame is looking like it will be a nice big crop, though I’m not too sure how to tell when it’s ready.  I guess when the beans look good and fat.  Time to start researching how to make them like the japanese restaurants!

And behind the scenes, the less showy ‘Better Bush’ tomatoes are starting to blush (paws off, critters!)

The pepper plants, as usual, haven’t been doing too well, but I even have some little peppers popping up

And the mixed lettuce and herbs are still going strong.

I planted some mint in the pot the romaine lettuce used to be in, so soon I should be able to make some of Greta’s mint lemonade iced tea!

And of course, I couldn’t finish a post without an update on the massively cool watermelon vines.

I used to visit and revisit it a dozen times a day, and stand in deep contemplation over my vegetable progeny with a love that nobody could share or conceive of who had never taken part in the process of creation.  It was one of the most bewitching sights in the world to observe a hill of beans thrusting aside the soil, or a rose of early peas just peeping forth sufficiently to trace a line of delicate green.
~Nathaniel Hawthorne, Mosses from an Old Manse, 1846.

5 thoughts on “the war is won!

  1. i’m pretty happy about the eggplants too, but it might just be because they were playing hard to get for so long 🙂 but i ate that tomato (yeah, the one with the bite out of it) today, and *nothing* could make you want a garden as much as that could!

  2. Pingback: return of the nemesis | A Dirty Soul

Leave a Reply

