more spring gardening, and a spring flower festival!

Just a little more gardening today – it was almost unintentional, but I found these great bins for $1 so decided I should plant some more things.  A few holes drilled in the bottoms and they are perfect veggie pots!  (Who knew a cordless drill would be such an essential garden tool?)2013-04-14 00.51.54

I planted some spinach seed in the blue one, and it has the honor of being the first pot out on the “deck extension” – i.e. the roof of the basement apartment entrance. (You can just see it below if you look through the rails.)  I can’t put anything too heavy over there, and it’s a bit awkward to get to, but for the moment there is more sun there than most places, so I’m going to take what I can get.  2013-04-14 01.49.23

I also planted some beet seeds in the taller blue bucket (above) – in retrospect I probably should have used one of the shallower ones, since beets don’t need much depth. Maybe I still will…

And I planted a bit of cheater basil – huge plants from the nursery, but this way I can have basil right now if I want!  I also picked up some railing planters which I’m very excited about, since I need good ways to get the sun-loving plants on the *other* side of the railing.  These will work very well, though I haven’t decided what to plant in them yet.2013-04-14 01.49.09

While I was at it, I re-potted some houseplants that were looking scraggly. I love these shamrocks – the purple one I’ve had for years and it’s really tolerant of my neglect.  The green ones I just found for $2 after St. Patricks day – poor rejected little leprechauns!2013-04-14 02.08.16a

This afternoon was the annual cherry blossom festival in my neighborhood, which has been at least a week too early pretty much every year I’ve been here.  But it was a nice sunny day and I walked around with a friend enjoying the cherry and magnolia buds (the white Star Magnolias are already blooming! And the pink ones are alllmost there…), along with some spring bulbs, some unexpected hellebores, and an awesome steel drum band!

2013-04-14 18.08.55 2013-04-14 18.17.17

I will be the gladdest thing
Under the sun!
I will touch a hundred flowers
And not pick one.
~Edna St. Vincent Millay, “Afternoon on a Hill”

Leave a Reply

