early greens

I’m so glad I got such an early start on greens! I have mounds of romaine lettuce just in time for my new obsession with raw tacos, which I recently tried at G-Zen, one of the top vegan restaurants in the country.

g-zen-raw-taco2013-05-04 21.38.49

The broccoli has been having a growth spurt too, though no heads have formed yet.

2013-05-04 21.39.19

And sowing my spinach directly from seed gave me the chance to learn a new word: cotyledon.  These are the first ’embryonic’ leaves that emerge from a seed, and they don’t resemble the true leaves much at all.  (Phew, my spinach doesn’t have a long-skinny-looks-like-grass disease after all!)

2013-05-04 21.40.54

Sugar snap peas are growing fast, and soon I’ll have to figure out a trellising plan.  And the beet seeds are starting to sprout, though I think maybe they haven’t been getting enough sun, so I moved them out to the deck extension with the spinach.

2013-05-04 21.41.19

2013-05-04 21.39.33

The dill and mint are doing really well in their dollar store bowls, although I think I jumped the gun on the basil – I think it froze while I was away in Seattle. I’m curious to see if I can salvage it though, so stay tuned!

2013-05-04 21.39.522013-05-04 21.39.08

A few strawberries are starting to appear already, and I think it’s possible I may not have killed my favorite red anemone after all!

2013-05-04 21.40.46

2013-05-04 21.45.14

How ’bout we start
with a salad, a fresh bed of lettuce with croutons?
Later we can play a game of chess on the futon.

~dead prez, “Mind Sex”

2 thoughts on “early greens

  1. I can’t get over how much of a difference living south of the border makes.
    Here we are just beginning to see the first evidence of spring and leaves, and flowers….
    Hope you enjoy your fresh grown “raw taco” soon

Leave a Reply

