a bouquet of broccoli, and a storm named Andrea

2013-06-07 01.16.05Remember what I said about the broccoli not being too close to blooming?  Oops.  Actually though, it still tastes just fine to me!  A bit bitter, but it’s kind of cool eating yellow flowers that taste exactly like broccoli.

There was a huge rainstorm here all day yesterday (the remnants of Tropical Storm Andrea) that dropped 4″ of rain or more, and caused widespread flooding. Here’s the highway right by my house:

flood

I was pretty concerned about the garden, and at one point had to go out and rescue some of the smaller herbs that were starting to float out of their pots. But all in all it looks like they weathered the storm just fine, except for some pretty tattered looking leaves on a few of the bigger plants.

2013-06-08 10.31.59  2013-06-08 10.32.25

But the zucchinis don’t seem to mind have been drowned and battered for an entire day, are are starting to sprout their first phallic little flowers. It won’t be long now until I’m drowning in zucchini!

2013-06-08 10.32.40

The little reed, bending to the force of the wind, soon stood upright again when the storm had passed over.
~Aesop

4 thoughts on “a bouquet of broccoli, and a storm named Andrea

  1. That Broccoli is too cool! I didn’t plant anything in my garden this year (because of the move), but the strawberries, lavender, oregano, and rosemary from last year came up. Our next apt won’t have a space for a garden, and I don’t think we’ll be there long enough to do something similar to what you’re doing (we’re hoping to find a house), but I am dying to have a yard to get back to gardening!

    • Yeah, I had no idea broccoli flowered like that! I almost like it better that way 🙂

      And yeah, moving makes it really hard to keep up with something like this, especially since we always move in the summer! I’m moving again this summer too, and I have no idea how I’ll manage to lug this jungle to the new place…I too am looking forward to one day being settled long enough to grow a garden in the ground like a normal person 🙂

Leave a Reply

