Garden + Vodka = Non-carcinogenic no-calorie sweetener!

I recently learned how to make liquid stevia extract, and I thought I’d post some pictures because it was super easy, and it’s pretty great to have shelf-stable no-calorie sweetener that doesn’t taste like cancer (or cause it).  I don’t have any stevia in the garden this year, but I had a ton of dried leaves from past years. I use the leaves to sweeten iced tea, but sometimes you really need a liquid form.  Enter: vodka.  Liquid stevia can be made in 4 easy steps:

Put leaves in a glass bowl.2013-07-01 09.17.05

Add enough vodka to cover the leaves:
2013-07-01 09.15.02

Mix well, cover with tight lid and shake.  Let sit on the counter covered for 24-36 hours (not longer or it will get bitter).2013-06-29 01.27.57

Strain the leaves out of the liquid, using a cheesecloth, coffee filter, or mesh strainer. Funnel into colored glass jar with dropper. 2013-07-01 09.00.56

The stevia will keep on a cupboard shelf for 2-4 years. You only need a drop or two to sweeten a drink, so a little bottle will last quite a while.  And yes, it’s “alcoholic”, but what a great excuse for a drop of vodka in your morning tea. 🙂

Everything is a miracle. It is a miracle that one does not dissolve in one’s bath like a lump of sugar.
~Pablo Picasso

2 thoughts on “Garden + Vodka = Non-carcinogenic no-calorie sweetener!

  1. Sounds great. I’ll have to try it. Now for something strange. When I read your post on my BlackBerry, it said 3 easy steps (I counted 4). Then I went to the actual blog, and it said 4 easy steps. Hmmmmm

    Sent from my BlackBerry 10 smartphone.

Leave a Reply

