harvests of late summer

Though you wouldn’t know if from how much I’ve posted about the garden in the last 2 months, it’s done pretty well since the move. I have managed to take some pics as I’ve been harvesting this summer & fall, so here is an assortment to capture a bit of the bounty of the last few months. 2013-08-04 02.05.44

I only got a handful of zucchinis this year, which I finally determined was because there was an infestation of (wait for it) millipedes in my pots!  But all the heirloom tomatoes just keep coming and coming.  I’ve given away a few handfuls here and there, but mostly I’ve just eaten pounds and pounds of tomatoes this summer! You might notice a couple of strawberries in the harvest below – my everbearing strawberry suddenly started producing again. I love this variety – I think I’ll replace all the other ones with this type next year.

 2013-08-10 15.45.25

I planted these beets super early, and waited until August to harvest them, but they were still really tiny.  I’ll have to try again next year – I might try some golden beets because while I was waiting for these I kept buying beets at the farmer’s market, and the golden ones are just as awesome but don’t stain everything in sight when you cook them. 2013-08-04 03.40.09

The cheater (grafted) purple peppers also continue to produce, despite fairly serious neglect and a small pot, but I have to say although they’re really pretty, I don’t love the taste.  They’re not very sweet, and still pretty thin flesh. I think I’ll permanently cross peppers off the container gardening list.2013-08-10 14.55.31

Tomatoes, tomatoes, and more tomatoes. Hard to estimate, but looking at my harvest count (at right), I think there’s a good chance I’ve eaten 100 pounds of tomatoes this summer!2013-08-04 02.02.23     2013-08-03 18.58.35

2013-08-03 18.57.50

2013-07-30 05.41.33

I got a few of the regular cucumbers, and none of the lemon cukes. Next year I’ll see what I can do with a bigger container and more sun.

2013-08-04 02.06.37     2013-07-30 05.43.26

Leave a Reply

