taming the jungle

2014-07-06 09.28.32

We’ve had a ton of rain this week, which was great because I didn’t have to water the plants.  But when I when out to rescue them from this weekend’s beautiful sunshine, I found a ridiculous, and very tangled, jungle. So I pulled them all apart and surveyed what exactly was going on where.2014-07-06 10.17.04When I pulled them apart, it turned out that some of them were being held up by the others, so that giants like this Sweet 100 cherry tomato dramatically threw themselves all over the parking lot. But an hour of tying vines with plant tie tape and dragging massive containers around to new positions resulted in a much happier and better-looking parking lot jungle.2014-07-06 10.48.27

As I was pulling them apart I also found quite a few surprise veggies hiding inside. Most are still small and green:2014-07-06 10.30.52

but there was one really pretty Indigo Kumquat cherry tomato:2014-07-06 10.40.32

and THREE huge zucchini!
2014-07-01 19.54.48

and a couple of eat-while-you-garden strawberries 🙂2014-06-29 20.09.24

The Romaine lettuce is perfect, but probably in danger of bolting any day now, so I moved it to a shadier spot until I can use up some more of it.2014-07-06 09.27.20

I also harvested all of the bok choy last week, which really should have been done quite a while ago. It actually started to bolt immediately after I planted it. I don’t think it was too hot – it was mid-May, and we had a cold-ish start to summer – but it might have been too cold? I’ve read that cold temperatures can stress it into bolting. I just let it keep going though, in the hopes it would get to a reasonable size, but at this point it was getting a bit ridiculous.2014-06-29 16.34.55

It was delicious in a stir fry though, and I might even say the flower stalks were the best part!

2014-06-29 16.47.21

And, cutest for last, the watermelons have started to appear. I’ve grown these in a container once before, and they’re really not meant for such a small space, but I thought I’d try it again this year just for fun.2014-07-06 10.47.59

Almost any garden, if you see it at the right moment, can be confused with paradise.
~Henry Mitchell, The Essential Earthman 

One thought on “taming the jungle

  1. I can’t get over how well you pot garden does. And those colourful pots certainly spruce-up a drab parking lot pavement.
    Good eating!

Leave a Reply

