the first month

2015-06-13 10.51.40It’s been a rainy few weeks, and both the garden and I are pretty happy about it – it’s nice to be able to go away to sunny Texas for the weekend and know that your plants are being taken care of by the sky!

The zucchini plants are going nuts, as they always do. So far, it looks like it may be a bumper year for teeny (and not-so-teeny) phalluses 🙂

2015-06-13 10.51.292015-06-13 10.52.13

The herb garden is also looking great – I’ve got some spearmint, chocolate mint, chives, a cute little dwarf basil (I guess “cute”, “little”, and “dwarf” are a bit redundant. Oh well.), rosemary, oregano, cascading nasturtiums, and some hidden strawberries that are SO tiny still – see next picture.

2015-06-13 10.51.56

Strawberries – I have no idea if they’ll even bear fruit this year. If they do, it will be kind of amazing, since this will be the 5th year they re-emerge after winter in this same tiny peat moss container.

2015-05-28 09.24.25

I planted some purple potatoes this year in a “potato bag”. I’m planning to do another post about these when I add the second layer, but for now, look at how well they are flourishing in this bag!

2015-06-09 18.51.53

Lastly, I seem to have gone overboard on the flowers this year, which is unlike me — usually I want to fill every last nook and cranny with edibles. But I was feeling indulgent with my gift certificate at the garden center, and apparently I was also feeling pretty purple!

I’m most proud of my “window box” – I think it looks great, and it’s in a perfectly shaded spot to keep the fuchsia plant happy. I LOVE fuchsias, but I have such a hard time keeping them lively in those hanging pots they normally come in, so this year I took them out and combined them with some hot orange annuals and some dark purple foliage. This container is right beside my door, and makes me super happy when I go in and out.

2015-06-13 10.54.07 2015-06-13 10.53.15 2015-06-13 10.53.05

When I walk with you I feel as if I had a flower in my buttonhole.
~William Makepeace Thackeray

3 thoughts on “the first month

  1. > it looks like it may be a bumper year for teeny (and not-so-teeny) phalluses

    This blog lives up to its title. Garden looks impressive! Zucchini are a ridiculous plant. Why hasn’t science yet found a way to take the prolific gene from zucchini and splice it into everything else?? Never again would I need to visit a grocery store. Also world hunger would end.

    • Zucchinis make it so easy to live up to my blog title 🙂 And you make a good point – we should really get scientists onto that! Of course with my luck, they’d also decide to splice it into squirrel DNA, and the dozens and dozens of squirrels swarming my garden would eat all the veggies anyway.

Leave a Reply

